The village, that has a unique view across the bay of Kavala, is 30 km away from Thassos Town and 2 km from Skala Kallirachis. According to tradition Pirates destroyed the original village of Kallirachi, which was located elsewhere. The old village was renamed Kaki Rachi (Bad Back). Before the destruction, a nobleman named Savel and his entourage left the old village and came to this place that now exists Kallirachi. The village now lies on a hillside with traditional houses and narrow streets. It has a population of 1300 inhabitants. The people earn their living by cultivating their land or fishing and several by tourism. It is worth visiting the Cultural Centre and the Folk Museum, which houses traditional tools, knitted textiles, needlework and more.
Source: Municipality of Thassos